AliveAndFreeHypnosis.com

To Be or Not To Be…Gluten-Free?

There seems to be a new wave of ‘Gluten-Free’ products nowadays. gluten free
If you are like us, questioning what gluten is and why it’s important to reduce intake on it, then we are in the same boat!

We read through this article and learned gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. Gluten-related problems are increasingly common, due to the fact that bread is made differently these days. “Old-fashioned home-baked breads had plenty of time to rise, and the leavening process broke up some gluten. Modern bakeries turn out bread more quickly, giving less time for the leavening process.”  

Recently doctors have changed their opinions on the impact a gluten-infused diet can have health-related issues for many people, as a matter of fact, gluten-related issues are fairly common. There’s now a way to tell who can eat gluten safely and who can not. 

Here is a breakdown of what you need to know about gluten tolerance categories: 

1. Celiac Disease – “This disease affects about 1% of the population. For them, gluten-containing foods can cause abdominal pain, diarrhea, bloating, and weight loss, along with fatigue, irritability, depression, and difficulty thinking clearly. Because the condition interferes with the absorption of nutrients from your digestive tract, it can lead to anemia and even osteoporosis. As frightening as this sounds, the condition is 100% curable with a gluten-free diet.”

2. Gluten Sensitivity – “There is no specific test for gluten sensitivity, you can prove that gluten is the culprit by avoiding gluten products and watching your symptoms resolve. An estimated 7% of adults have gluten sensitivity.”

3. Gluten-Friendly – “About 90% of people have no problem with gluten at all. They can eat bread, bagels, pasta, and other gluten-containing foods with no symptoms, and there is no reason for them to avoid these foods or to purchase gluten-free products.”

If everything in this article has got you thinking about a diet that is gluten-free, “the good news is that you only have to avoid three grains: wheat, barley and rye. You’ll have no problem with rice, corn, millet, quinoa, amaranth, and buckwheat, since they are naturally gluten-free. You’ll also be fine with vegetables, fruits, beans, etc.” However, there is bad news, “traces of wheat, barley and rye end up in a wide range of products – in soy sauce, beer, and countless other foods. So, you’ll need to read food labels. Even the slightest trace of gluten can cause a reaction.”

 If gluten is a problem for you, it’s great to find an answer to your symptoms. If it is not, it is great to know you can eat gluten-containing foods without worry.